Veronica Henry Wins the Romantic Novel of the Year Award at the RoNAs

18th Mar 2014

Veronica Henry Wins the Romantic Novel of the Year Award at the RoNAs
Last night, in the illustrious Gladstone Library of One Whitehall Place, romance novelists, publishers and agents from all of the country came together for the Annual RoNAs...

The annual awards are hosted by the RNA, the UK’s Romance Novelists’ Association, and celebrate everything romantic.  There are five genre awards – which go forward for the coveted Romance Novel of the Year – as well as the RoNA ROSE Award and Outstanding Achievement Awards.

Veronica Henry won the Romantic Novel of the Year with her A Night on the Orient Express.  A multi-narrative novel, set upon the most infamous of trains, deftly captures love in all its many forms.  This won the Contemporary Romantic Novel category, and was then put forward with the authors of the four other genre winners – Epic, Historical, Romantic Comedy and Young Adult – to contest the grand prize.

The Romantic Novel of the Year was judged by an independent panel, this year comprised of Sarah Broadhurst (The Bookseller), Alison Flood (The Guardian) Jane Mats (Daily Mail), Karin Stoecker (ex-director of Mills & Boon) and Chris White (Waterstones).

And the rest of the 2014 RoNA winners are:

The RoNA for an Epic Romantic Novel

Jennifer McVeigh won this for The Fever Tree, the gripping tale of Frances Irvine, whose arrival in South Africa results in a story of where passion and integrity war continually, and where the diamond mines are both lethal and life-saving…

The RoNA for a Historical Romantic Novel

Winning novel The Gilded Fan tells of an orphaned Japanese woman fleeing her home country only to find herself in England in the midst of the Civil War.  Christina Courtenay’s beautiful prose underscores Midori’s struggle to understand her attraction to a person from outside her own culture.

The RoNA for a Romantic Comedy Novel

“Half Glaswegian Barnsley bird” Milly Johnson won with her sparkling It’s Raining Men, where three best friends’ summer spa getaway goes horribly wrong and they end up in a village with a secret…

The RoNA for a Young Adult Romantic Novel

Young Adult Science Fiction writer Imogen Howson won for her darkly haunting tale Linked, where two sisters struggle to evade the government agents who are tracking them down…

The RoNA ROSE Award

This Award is for shorter category/series fiction and while it does not go forward to contest the main award, the authors are recognised through the presentation of a trophy.  Double-nominated Kate Hardy won for her book Bound By A Baby, the story of what happens when two very different people have to step up as guardians for their best friends’ orphaned son…

Outstanding Achievement Awards also went to Helen Fielding, of Bridget Jones fame and Dr David Hessayon, for sponsoring the RNA’s annual award for new writing. The Joan Hessayon Award is named for his late wife, a longstanding member of the RNA and great supporter of New Writers’ Scheme (NWS).